Ministry of Health Belize


May 25th
Text size
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Public Health Requirements Belize Requirements for Travelers from Yellow Fever Endemic Areas

Belize Requirements for Travelers from Yellow Fever Endemic Areas

E-mail Print PDF

(1st July, 2014)

1.    All travelers arriving within six days of departure from territories or areas at risk of yellow fever transmission must present a valid yellow fever vaccination certificate showing that the person was vaccinated at least 10 days previously before arrival at any point of entry in Belize. (First vaccination is considered to provide life immunity hence, no need for subsequent re-vaccination.)

2.    Certificates shall be individual and shall in no circumstances be used collectively. Separate certificates shall be issued for children one year and older.

3.    When vaccination or prophylaxis is contraindicated on medical grounds a supervising clinician shall provide reasons for underlying that opinion in the form of a medical certificate.

4.    An equivalent document issued by the Armed Forces to an active member shall be accepted in lieu of an international certificate.

5.    The requirements shall be applicable to the below list of countries which are considered countries/areas of risk for yellow fever transmission as defined by the WHO International travel and health 2012.

6.    In default of the above mentioned requirements, travelers can still proceed to Belize however, they will be subjected to a health screening and or quarantined (facility bound or monitored at predetermined location) until risk of yellow fever transmission has been abated.

Travelers from the below listed countries require yellow fever vaccination certificate


Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan (north and south), Togo and Uganda.


Argentina, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Plurinational State of Bolivia, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.